Présentation

Chile - Born in 1968
Emergency

Seen from the sky, these are small turquoise or emerald lakes glistening in the north of Chile. But upon closer inspection, it transpires that their glow is actually caused by toxic copper waste, a residue from mines that flows into the water. Further away, in the Tarapacá region, the Humberstone saltpetre works lie abandoned, the ghostly remains of the former potassium nitrate processing sector. In 2019, Chile, which has been plagued by a ten-year-long drought, was due to hold the COP 25 climate change conference, but the social crisis and protest movements occurring in the country forced a change of plan. The country now knows that continuing to consume its resources so intensively will result in its own demise. Martin Bernetti is head of the AFP photo department in Santiago. He is drawing up an environmental inventory of a country that is now aware of its natural heritage and committed to becoming the new Eldorado of green energy.

A joint fight for the planet -
For 2020, the La Gacilly Photo Festival and the AFP have come together to spotlight the work of three AFP photographers working in Latin America on a theme that is close to our hearts: the bond between Humans and Earth.
Exhibition produced thanks to the support and expertise of Initial Labo.
Martin Bernetti_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Martin Bernetti_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Martin Bernetti_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Viva Latina ! Chile - Born in 1968

Seen from the sky, these are small turquoise or emerald lakes glistening in the north of Chile. But upon closer inspection, it transpires that their glow is actually caused by toxic copper waste, a residue from mines that flows into the water. Further away, in the Tarapacá region, the Humberstone saltpetre works lie abandoned, the ghostly remains of the former potassium nitrate processing sector. In 2019, Chile, which has been plagued by a ten-year-long drought, was due to hold the COP 25 climate change conference, but the social crisis and protest movements occurring in the country forced a change of plan. The country now knows that continuing to consume its resources so intensively will result in its own demise. Martin Bernetti is head of the AFP photo department in Santiago. He is drawing up an environmental inventory of a country that is now aware of its natural heritage and committed to becoming the new Eldorado of green energy.

A joint fight for the planet -
For 2020, the La Gacilly Photo Festival and the AFP have come together to spotlight the work of three AFP photographers working in Latin America on a theme that is close to our hearts: the bond between Humans and Earth.
Exhibition produced thanks to the support and expertise of Initial Labo.

Présentation

Chili - Né en 1968
Urgence

Vus du ciel, ce sont de petits lacs turquoise ou émeraude qui scintillent au nord du Chili. Mais si l’on regarde de plus près, il s’agit en fait de déchets toxiques de cuivre, des résidus de l’activité minière se déversant dans les eaux. Plus loin, dans la région de Tarapacá, les usines de salpêtre de Humberstone gisent à l’abandon, témoins fantômes d’un ancien site de traitement de nitrate de potassium. En 2019, le Chili, en proie à une sécheresse prolongée depuis dix ans, devait organiser la COP 25, mais la crise sociale et les mouvements de contestation qui le traversent l’ont contraint à y renoncer. Le pays sait aujourd’hui qu’il risque l’asphyxie s’il continue de consommer intensivement ses ressources. Martin Bernetti dirige le bureau photo de l’AFP à Santiago. Il dresse l’inventaire environnemental d’un pays conscient de son patrimoine naturel, décidé à devenir le nouvel Eldorado des énergies vertes.

Un combat commun pour la Planète - Pour cette édition 2020, le Festival Photo La Gacilly et l’AFP ont décidé de s'associer pour mettre en lumière le travail de trois photographes de l’AFP travaillant en Amérique latine sur cette thématique qui nous est chère : celle du lien unissant l’Homme à la Terre.

Exposition produite grâce au soutien et à l'expertise des laboratoires Initial Labo.
Martin Bernetti_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Martin Bernetti_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Martin Bernetti_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Viva Latina ! Chili - Né en 1968

Vus du ciel, ce sont de petits lacs turquoise ou émeraude qui scintillent au nord du Chili. Mais si l’on regarde de plus près, il s’agit en fait de déchets toxiques de cuivre, des résidus de l’activité minière se déversant dans les eaux. Plus loin, dans la région de Tarapacá, les usines de salpêtre de Humberstone gisent à l’abandon, témoins fantômes d’un ancien site de traitement de nitrate de potassium. En 2019, le Chili, en proie à une sécheresse prolongée depuis dix ans, devait organiser la COP 25, mais la crise sociale et les mouvements de contestation qui le traversent l’ont contraint à y renoncer. Le pays sait aujourd’hui qu’il risque l’asphyxie s’il continue de consommer intensivement ses ressources. Martin Bernetti dirige le bureau photo de l’AFP à Santiago. Il dresse l’inventaire environnemental d’un pays conscient de son patrimoine naturel, décidé à devenir le nouvel Eldorado des énergies vertes.

Un combat commun pour la Planète - Pour cette édition 2020, le Festival Photo La Gacilly et l’AFP ont décidé de s'associer pour mettre en lumière le travail de trois photographes de l’AFP travaillant en Amérique latine sur cette thématique qui nous est chère : celle du lien unissant l’Homme à la Terre.

Exposition produite grâce au soutien et à l'expertise des laboratoires Initial Labo.