Présentation

Brazil - Born in 1980
The revolt of the Indigenous Amazon populations

In Jair Bolsonaro’s Brazil, the indigenous populations are struggling to make their voices heard to defend their land in the Amazon. This is a mammoth task in a country where native tribes only account for 0.5% of the population (approximately 900,000 inhabitants) and are poorly represented in the circles of power in Brasilia. In an attempt to turn this situation around, nearly 300 native leaders met in January 2020 in the State of Mato Grosso in the heart of the forest: as the world becomes increasingly concerned about ‘the lungs of the planet’, which are plagued by devastating fires, they now know that their survival is on borrowed time. For many months, Carl de Souza, who is based in Rio de Janeiro, followed the revolt of these communities that refuse to give up and die.

A joint fight for the planet -
For 2020, the La Gacilly Photo Festival and the AFP have come together to spotlight the work of three AFP photographers working in Latin America on a theme that is close to our hearts: the bond between Humans and Earth.
Exhibition produced thanks to the support and expertise of Initial Labo.
Carl De Souza_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Carl De Souza_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Carl De Souza_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Viva Latina ! Brazil - Born in 1980

In Jair Bolsonaro’s Brazil, the indigenous populations are struggling to make their voices heard to defend their land in the Amazon. This is a mammoth task in a country where native tribes only account for 0.5% of the population (approximately 900,000 inhabitants) and are poorly represented in the circles of power in Brasilia. In an attempt to turn this situation around, nearly 300 native leaders met in January 2020 in the State of Mato Grosso in the heart of the forest: as the world becomes increasingly concerned about ‘the lungs of the planet’, which are plagued by devastating fires, they now know that their survival is on borrowed time. For many months, Carl de Souza, who is based in Rio de Janeiro, followed the revolt of these communities that refuse to give up and die.

A joint fight for the planet -
For 2020, the La Gacilly Photo Festival and the AFP have come together to spotlight the work of three AFP photographers working in Latin America on a theme that is close to our hearts: the bond between Humans and Earth.
Exhibition produced thanks to the support and expertise of Initial Labo.

Présentation

Brésil - Né en 1980
La révolte des Indiens d'Amazonie

Dans le Brésil de Jair Bolsonaro, les peuples autochtones ont du mal à se faire entendre pour défendre leurs terres d’Amazonie. La tâche s’annonçait ardue dans un pays où les indigènes ne représentent que 0,5% de la population (environ 900 000 habitants) et sont peu représentés dans les cercles du pouvoir à Brasilia. Pour tenter de changer la donne, près de 300 leaders indigènes se sont réunis en janvier 2020 au cœur de la forêt, dans l’État du Mato Grosso : à l’heure où le monde se préoccupe du Poumon Vert de l’Humanité en proie à de terribles incendies, ils savent désormais que le temps de leur survie est compté. Basé à Rio de Janeiro, Carl de Souza a suivi, depuis de longs mois, la révolte de ces communautés qui refusent de mourir.

Un combat commun pour la Planète - Pour cette édition 2020, le Festival Photo La Gacilly et l’AFP ont décidé de s'associer pour mettre en lumière le travail de trois photographes de l’AFP travaillant en Amérique latine sur cette thématique qui nous est chère : celle du lien unissant l’Homme à la Terre.

Exposition produite grâce au soutien et à l'expertise des laboratoires Initial Labo.
Carl De Souza_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Carl De Souza_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Carl De Souza_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Viva Latina ! Brésil - Né en 1980

Dans le Brésil de Jair Bolsonaro, les peuples autochtones ont du mal à se faire entendre pour défendre leurs terres d’Amazonie. La tâche s’annonçait ardue dans un pays où les indigènes ne représentent que 0,5% de la population (environ 900 000 habitants) et sont peu représentés dans les cercles du pouvoir à Brasilia. Pour tenter de changer la donne, près de 300 leaders indigènes se sont réunis en janvier 2020 au cœur de la forêt, dans l’État du Mato Grosso : à l’heure où le monde se préoccupe du Poumon Vert de l’Humanité en proie à de terribles incendies, ils savent désormais que le temps de leur survie est compté. Basé à Rio de Janeiro, Carl de Souza a suivi, depuis de longs mois, la révolte de ces communautés qui refusent de mourir.

Un combat commun pour la Planète - Pour cette édition 2020, le Festival Photo La Gacilly et l’AFP ont décidé de s'associer pour mettre en lumière le travail de trois photographes de l’AFP travaillant en Amérique latine sur cette thématique qui nous est chère : celle du lien unissant l’Homme à la Terre.

Exposition produite grâce au soutien et à l'expertise des laboratoires Initial Labo.