Présentation

United States - Born in 1977
God's Honey

In Mayan culture, bee-keepers believe that bees are a gift from the god Ah Muzen Cab and provide a link with the spirit world. For centuries, these insects made the Yucatán Peninsula the world’s leading honey-producing region. In 2011, however, the Mexican government began offering subsidies to allow farmers to use GMO crops to increase their soy bean production. As a result, the hives have been declining for the past few years or have been contaminated by the pesticides used extensively by certain farmers – mainly Mennonites, the Anabaptist Christians who eschew technological progress. Two different worlds with two conceptions of tradition and rurality are at loggerheads. American photographer Nadia Shira Cohen has already received a World Press Photo award for this long-term project, which she began in 2016. She tells a story in which the race for profit and the over-exploitation of land has triggered a domino effect with inevitable, irreversible consequences for the surrounding fauna and flora, as well as for the entire ecosystem.

Nadia Shira Cohen is the 2019 winner of the Yves Rocher Foundation Photo Award in partnership with Visa pour l’Image. She was awarded a grant of €8,000 for her work God’s Honey, which is on show for the first time in full at La Gacilly.

In partnership with the Yves Rocher Foundation.
Nadia Shira Cohen_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Nadia Shira Cohen_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Nadia Shira Cohen_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Preserving Biodiversity United States - Born in 1977

In Mayan culture, bee-keepers believe that bees are a gift from the god Ah Muzen Cab and provide a link with the spirit world. For centuries, these insects made the Yucatán Peninsula the world’s leading honey-producing region. In 2011, however, the Mexican government began offering subsidies to allow farmers to use GMO crops to increase their soy bean production. As a result, the hives have been declining for the past few years or have been contaminated by the pesticides used extensively by certain farmers – mainly Mennonites, the Anabaptist Christians who eschew technological progress. Two different worlds with two conceptions of tradition and rurality are at loggerheads. American photographer Nadia Shira Cohen has already received a World Press Photo award for this long-term project, which she began in 2016. She tells a story in which the race for profit and the over-exploitation of land has triggered a domino effect with inevitable, irreversible consequences for the surrounding fauna and flora, as well as for the entire ecosystem.

Nadia Shira Cohen is the 2019 winner of the Yves Rocher Foundation Photo Award in partnership with Visa pour l’Image. She was awarded a grant of €8,000 for her work God’s Honey, which is on show for the first time in full at La Gacilly.

In partnership with the Yves Rocher Foundation.

Présentation

États-Unis - Née en 1977
Le miel des Dieux

Dans la culture Maya, les apiculteurs pensent que les abeilles sont un cadeau du dieu Ah Muzen Cab et agissent comme un lien vers le monde des esprits. Pendant des siècles, ces insectes ont fait de la péninsule du Yucatán la première région productrice de miel au monde. En 2011, le gouvernement mexicain a commencé à offrir des subventions pour permettre aux fermiers d’utiliser des OGM afin d'augmenter la production de soja. En conséquence, depuis plusieurs années, les ruches disparaissent ou sont contaminées par les pesticides utilisés à foison par certains agriculteurs, principalement des familles mennonites, ces chrétiens anabaptistes pourtant réfractaires au progrès technologique. Deux mondes s’opposent dans deux conceptions de la tradition et de la ruralité. Déjà primée par un World Press Photo pour ce travail au long cours qu’elle a débuté en 2016, la photographe américaine Nadia Shira Cohen raconte l’une de ces histoires où la course au profit et à la surexploitation des sols déclenche une chute de dominos qui, inéluctablement, entraîne des conséquences irréversibles sur la faune, la flore et l’écosystème tout entier.

Nadia Shira Cohen est la lauréate 2019 du Prix Photo Fondation Yves Rocher en partenariat avec Visa pour l’Image. Une bourse de 8 000 euros lui a été remise pour la réalisation de son travail God’s Honey, présenté pour la première fois dans sa totalité à La Gacilly.

En partenariat avec la Fondation Yves Rocher.
Nadia Shira Cohen_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Nadia Shira Cohen_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Nadia Shira Cohen_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Préserver la biodiversité États-Unis - Née en 1977

Dans la culture Maya, les apiculteurs pensent que les abeilles sont un cadeau du dieu Ah Muzen Cab et agissent comme un lien vers le monde des esprits. Pendant des siècles, ces insectes ont fait de la péninsule du Yucatán la première région productrice de miel au monde. En 2011, le gouvernement mexicain a commencé à offrir des subventions pour permettre aux fermiers d’utiliser des OGM afin d'augmenter la production de soja. En conséquence, depuis plusieurs années, les ruches disparaissent ou sont contaminées par les pesticides utilisés à foison par certains agriculteurs, principalement des familles mennonites, ces chrétiens anabaptistes pourtant réfractaires au progrès technologique. Deux mondes s’opposent dans deux conceptions de la tradition et de la ruralité. Déjà primée par un World Press Photo pour ce travail au long cours qu’elle a débuté en 2016, la photographe américaine Nadia Shira Cohen raconte l’une de ces histoires où la course au profit et à la surexploitation des sols déclenche une chute de dominos qui, inéluctablement, entraîne des conséquences irréversibles sur la faune, la flore et l’écosystème tout entier.

Nadia Shira Cohen est la lauréate 2019 du Prix Photo Fondation Yves Rocher en partenariat avec Visa pour l’Image. Une bourse de 8 000 euros lui a été remise pour la réalisation de son travail God’s Honey, présenté pour la première fois dans sa totalité à La Gacilly.

En partenariat avec la Fondation Yves Rocher.