Présentation

Mexico - Born in 1974
Dark Horizons

Based in Mexico, Pedro Pardo was awarded a World Press Photo prize in 2019 for his shot of a group of Latin American migrants climbing the wall between Mexico and the United States. He continues to document a wounded country that sinks deeper and deeper into violence, every day. His photographs make the front pages and reveal an implacable, heart-rending reality that raises real questions about the world we are fashioning. Children are taking up arms to protect their land, villagers are creating their own self-defence militia against drug cartels, and contingents of destitute people are braving the exodus to seek a brighter future in North America. “I’ve always believed that journalism can transform the community,” states Pardo. This goes some way to explaining what drives him to continue with his work.

A joint fight for the planet -
For 2020, the La Gacilly Photo Festival and the AFP have come together to spotlight the work of three AFP photographers working in Latin America on a theme that is close to our hearts: the bond between Humans and Earth.
Exhibition produced thanks to the support and expertise of Initial Labo.
Pedro Pardo_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Pedro Pardo_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Pedro Pardo_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Viva Latina ! Mexico - Born in 1974

Based in Mexico, Pedro Pardo was awarded a World Press Photo prize in 2019 for his shot of a group of Latin American migrants climbing the wall between Mexico and the United States. He continues to document a wounded country that sinks deeper and deeper into violence, every day. His photographs make the front pages and reveal an implacable, heart-rending reality that raises real questions about the world we are fashioning. Children are taking up arms to protect their land, villagers are creating their own self-defence militia against drug cartels, and contingents of destitute people are braving the exodus to seek a brighter future in North America. “I’ve always believed that journalism can transform the community,” states Pardo. This goes some way to explaining what drives him to continue with his work.

A joint fight for the planet -
For 2020, the La Gacilly Photo Festival and the AFP have come together to spotlight the work of three AFP photographers working in Latin America on a theme that is close to our hearts: the bond between Humans and Earth.
Exhibition produced thanks to the support and expertise of Initial Labo.

Présentation

Mexique - Né en 1974
Sombres horizons

Basé à Mexico, tout auréolé d’un World Press Photo en 2019 pour ce cliché d’un groupe de migrants latino-américains escaladant le mur dressé entre le Mexique et les États-Unis, Pedro Pardo n’en finit pas de documenter un pays meurtri qui s’enfonce chaque jour un peu plus dans la violence. Ses photographies font la une des journaux et dévoilent une réalité implacable, déchirante, qui doit nous interroger sur le monde que nous façonnons. Des enfants prennent les armes pour protéger leur terre, des villageois créent leur propre milice d’auto-défense contre les cartels de la drogue, ou des cohortes de déshérités bravent l’exode et cherchent une éclaircie dans le nord de l’Amérique. « J’ai toujours pensé que le journalisme pouvait transformer la communauté », prévient Pardo. On comprend mieux ce qui lui donne la force de continuer à exercer son métier.

Un combat commun pour la Planète - Pour cette édition 2020, le Festival Photo La Gacilly et l’AFP ont décidé de s'associer pour mettre en lumière le travail de trois photographes de l’AFP travaillant en Amérique latine sur cette thématique qui nous est chère : celle du lien unissant l’Homme à la Terre.

Exposition produite grâce au soutien et à l'expertise des laboratoires Initial Labo.
Pedro Pardo_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Pedro Pardo_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020

Exposition

Pedro Pardo_FestivalPhotoLaGacilly2020
Viva Latina ! Mexique - Né en 1974

Basé à Mexico, tout auréolé d’un World Press Photo en 2019 pour ce cliché d’un groupe de migrants latino-américains escaladant le mur dressé entre le Mexique et les États-Unis, Pedro Pardo n’en finit pas de documenter un pays meurtri qui s’enfonce chaque jour un peu plus dans la violence. Ses photographies font la une des journaux et dévoilent une réalité implacable, déchirante, qui doit nous interroger sur le monde que nous façonnons. Des enfants prennent les armes pour protéger leur terre, des villageois créent leur propre milice d’auto-défense contre les cartels de la drogue, ou des cohortes de déshérités bravent l’exode et cherchent une éclaircie dans le nord de l’Amérique. « J’ai toujours pensé que le journalisme pouvait transformer la communauté », prévient Pardo. On comprend mieux ce qui lui donne la force de continuer à exercer son métier.

Un combat commun pour la Planète - Pour cette édition 2020, le Festival Photo La Gacilly et l’AFP ont décidé de s'associer pour mettre en lumière le travail de trois photographes de l’AFP travaillant en Amérique latine sur cette thématique qui nous est chère : celle du lien unissant l’Homme à la Terre.

Exposition produite grâce au soutien et à l'expertise des laboratoires Initial Labo.